Section Leadership

The Council of Chiefs, or COC, is the body of youth leaders and adult advisers that handle all of the section’s operations. The COC is responsible for planning the annual section conclave and providing support to the lodges in the section. 

The Council of Chiefs consists of the section chief, vice chief, secretary, immediate past section chief, one representative from each lodge (typically the lodge chief or their proxy), other Arrowman as appointed, the section advisers, lodge advisers, and section staff adviser. Only the section officers, immediate past section chief (if under 21) and lodge representatives vote in section business. 

Section Officers

The Section G16 officers are responsible for the effective and efficient operation of the section, its events, and communications, as well as providing a key link from the national level to the lodges.

The section officers are elected annually by the youth members of the section at the annual conclave. 

Section Chief

Benjamin Flores

Benjamin is an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member of Wauna La-Mon’tay Lodge and is serving his second term as section chief. Previously, Ben has served as section secretary, lodge chief, lodge membership vice chief, lodge communications vice chief, chapter chief, and camp staff at Camp Meriwether, Camp Ireland, and NYLT staff. Ben is a Lodge Service Award, Founder’s Award, and section Arrow of Honor Award recipient and has attended NLS. 

In his free time, Ben enjoys playing video games and hanging out with friends. He is in his first year at Oregon State University where he studies environmental engineering.

Section Vice Chief

Jackson McCullough

Jackson is an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member of Tsisqan Lodge. Previously, he has served as lodge chief, lodge admin vice chief, and lodge service vice chief. He has attended NLS and NYLT and has served on summer camp staff at both Camp Baker and Camp Melakwa. 

In his free times, he enjoys fixing and breaking his 1999 Lexus ES300 (an overpriced Camry) and playing CS:GO and Fortnite, among others, on the computer he built in 2020. Scouting has been a big part of his life and he claims is his “main purpose in life.” His closet consists mainly of OA and camp staff shirts and jackets. 

Jackson currently attends Umpqua Community College where he is working to get his Associates of Arts transfer degree and later plans to major in general education. He hopes to be a high school social studies teacher where he really loves history and government studies and so that he can have the schedule to be more involved in Scouting. 

Section Secretary

Jack Lewy

Jack is an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member of Wauna La-Mon’tay Lodge. Previously, Jack has served as lodge program vice chief, chapter program vice chief, conclave activities vice chief, senior patrol leader, and on summer camp staff. Jack is a Lodge Service Award recipient and an NLS and NYLT participant. 

In his free time, Jack enjoys buying shoes and spending time with his friends. He attends Portland State University where he studies leadership and management. 

Section Advisers

Section advisers provide support to the officers throughout the section and its events.

Section Adviser

Brian Gray

Brian is an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member of Wauna La-Mon’tay Lodge. Previously, Brian has served as associate section adviser, conclave vice chief adviser, and a DYLC guide. While a youth, Brian served as section chief, section vice chief, and lodge chief. Brian is a a section Arrow of Honor and Founder’s Award recipient. 

In his free time, Brian enjoys exploring the Pacific Northwest and outdoor cooking and hopes to visit every National Park.

Associate Section Adviser

Cheryl Hunker

Cheryl is a Vigil Honor member of Wauna La-Mon’tay Lodge. In addition to serving as associate section adviser, she serves as Wauna La-Mon’tay lodge’s program adviser. Previously, Cheryl has served as a den leader, unit committee member, “special assistant to the Scoutmaster,” and on staff for NOAC, National Jamboree and Woodbadge. Cheryl is a recipient of the District Award of Merit, Silver Beaver, Lodge Service Award, Founder’s Award, OA Centurion Award, section Arrow of Honor, and James E. West. She has also attended NLS and NLATS. 

In her free times, Cheryl enjoys family activities.

Associate Section Adviser

Chris Graves

Chris is an Eagle Scout and Vigil Honor member of Tsisqan Lodge. Previously, he has served as lodge adviser, chapter adviser, Camp Baker and Camp Melakwa summer camp program director. He has staffed five National Jamborees and the 2019 World Jamboree. He has served as contingent leader for four NOACs and on DYLC and NLS staff. In addition to associate section adviser, Chris serves as the Camp Baker properties committee chair and the Scoutmaster for the Oregon Trail Council’s 2023 National Jamboree contingent. He is a Founder’s Award, Centurion Award, and section Arrow of Honor recipient. 

In his free time, Chris enjoys traveling, reading history, and camping. 

Section Staff Adviser

Scott Impecoven

Scott is a Vigil Honor member of Tsisqan Lodge, Founder’s Award recipient, and serves as the Scout executive for the Oregon Trail Council. 

On his free time, Scott enjoys riding hi motorcycle, sports, and backpacking.